a monkey and the zoo.

Oh, Spring.  We missed you.

We received a zoo pass as a Christmas gift from RJ’s awesome aunt and uncle; and have been waiting for a nice spring day to use it.  Monday was the perfect day.  And we had the best time.

IMG_6534 IMG_6537

At first, Elijah just chowed down on some snacks and pointed at birds.  But when he saw actual zoo animals, he was hooked.

IMG_6539 IMG_6540

The monkey was pretty interested in actual monkeys.  The little ones were hard for him to spot in the trees, but he sure could spot the gorillas.  He also enjoyed looking at the signs with the pictures of all the animals, which are apparently just as interesting as live animals to a one-year-old.

IMG_6542 IMG_6544 IMG_6550

I think the giraffes were his favorite.  Especially since he kept seeing their heads from other parts of the zoo, which was very exciting for him.

IMG_6615 IMG_6614

Oh, thanks for showing us your chewed up graham cracker…such a silly man.

IMG_6553 IMG_6556IMG_6613 IMG_6612

The buffalo were pretty cool, too.

IMG_6557 IMG_6611

IMG_6609 IMG_6610

The last thing we saw was the Arctic area, where we saw polar bears outside.  (We didn’t see any swimming in the underwater tunnel, which was a bummer.)

IMG_6608 IMG_6607

We did see seals!  Eli thought that was pretty awesome.

IMG_6560

There was a group of people near us in the Arctic area dressed as pirates.  Pirates are distracting to a little monkey.  Even when you are in a tunnel under water.

IMG_6563 IMG_6564

A storm was coming as we left, so it got a little bit windy…

It was such a fun day.  I cannot wait for us to go again.

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

Leave a Reply

