Easy 4th of July Shirt for Monkey.

I am big on buying tees for us to wear on the 4th.  I found RJ, Emaline, and I shirts at Old Navy this year, but the one that I wanted for Eli wasn’t in stock in his size.  So I decided to do some DIYing with the monkey.  I am not nearly as crafty as I would like to be, but after a little looking around Pinterest I had a few ideas.

"I paint that shirt!"

“I paint that shirt!”

It was super easy, and would have been quicker if I didn’t have this cutie who wanted attention:IMG_2938

or this monkey who wanted to take “race” breaks:IMG_2933 IMG_2935

I opted for doing the painting outside, since our Father’s Day DIY project resulted in acrylic paint all over my kitchen and children.  So since I was letting Eli use real paint (Martha Stewart Multi-Surface Acrylic Craft Paint), outside we went.
I taped off some stripes on the tanks, and then let Elijah do his thing.IMG_2928 IMG_2929 IMG_2930

He needed a little help. IMG_2946

I did the stars, and then he wanted to add a little white paint.IMG_2949 IMG_2950

While they dried in the sun, we rested in the shade.IMG_2945

I am pretty happy with how they turned out.  Especially since they were so easy to do, and I know Elijah had fun.

IMG_2955 IMG_2960

 

Have you done any fun and patriotic crafts for Independence Day?

 

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

Leave a Reply

