Adventures on Friend-cation.

Friends+Vacation=Friendcation.
Last week, we were in Houghten Lake with a bunch of friends. We started going to Houghten Lake every June the summer after we were married and it has been an annual thing ever since.
We basically just hang out on the pontoon boat on sunny days and let the kids create chaos in the house when it rains (only two days out of seven this year). We eat too much and play games when the kiddos go to sleep. Elijah loves getting to see his friends all the time, even if having 9 kids under the age of 6 in one cottage is slight insanity.
Here are some pictures of our fun week (in a completely random order):

IMG_2531

Elijah is so happy because he does not know how cold the water is going to be.

IMG_2591

Emaline thought that her BFF Brooklynn’s head was a boob.

IMG_3758

Eli requested to sleep with baby girl, it was more giggles than actual sleep.

IMG_3774

Elijah was always talking about Joe’s boat. He wanted to know where it was at all times and who was on it.

IMG_2631

The sand table kept him busy when we weren’t on the boat.

IMG_2554

PJ time with Daddy on Father’s Day.

IMG_3830

On our first evening boat ride it rained, so we huddled under a blanket. This was our second attempt on the last night and it was beautiful. A little chilly, but so nice.

IMG_2589

Sometimes, he decided to cooperate and actually look at the camera when I took pictures.

IMG_3825

Because we love selfies.

IMG_2573

Blue skies and watermelon on the boat–which was docked at the sandbar. (that is the reason he isn’t wearing a life jacket, mom.)

IMG_2617

I’m pretty sure Elijah thought he was rowing the kayak on his own.

IMG_2529

PJ’s on the boat before it was in the water.

IMG_2547

What a good looking family I have.

IMG_2528

The kids had a great time on the boat, even when it wasn’t in the water yet.

IMG_2542

My baby girl stayed in the shade on the pontoon.

IMG_2579

Eli enjoyed every second on the boat. He pointed out every boat and duck and yelled when he saw sand.

IMG_3799

This is what the kids did when it was crappy weather. or when they woke up earlier than any of their parents. or when we needed a second of semi-calm-ness.

IMG_2569

Emaline and Daddy napping on the boat.

IMG_3767

Addison and Eli “fishing” on the dock with a broken fishing pole.

IMG_2533

Yes, that is my husband in the water with a hoodie on.

IMG_2650

Elijah thought it was so funny when RJ buried his feet in the sand. He kept telling me “look mama!” each time.

IMG_2632

Hammock selfie while Emmy was napping.

IMG_2565

I’m pretty sure Emmy enjoyed her friendcation too.

IMG_2539

I couldn’t resist taking a picture before I helped him get un-stuck.

IMG_3747

The ducks were a big hit with all the kids.

IMG_2645

The Ergo was such a lifesaver, Emaline could be cozy and I could have my hands free to wrangle a two year old.

IMG_2658

This was his third ice cream of the evening. It was vacation. and I wanted to eat ice cream, too.

IMG_2655

Can you tell Eli was up past his nap time? He needed a break from football with daddy.

IMG_2568

I think we have a little fishing fan.

IMG_3761

Having the kids eat on the porch was the best idea ever.

IMG_2646

Eli and his buddy Micah watching the waves.

IMG_2606

On our second rainy day, we took the kids to a Burger King that had a play place inside. Elijah wasn’t a big fan of the play place but he was a big fan of the ice cream cone.

 

IMG_2636

I kind of want her to wear bikinis on a daily basis. Emaline looks so stinking cute.

I have such a hard time remembering to get into photos myself, instead of always snapping them.  I always regret not taking more family photos, or photos of RJ and I.  I  know I can’t be the only mama with this problem.

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

Leave a comment