Planning for Disney–6 months out.

It’s no secret that we are in love with Walt Disney World.  We have a family wedding in October just a couple hours away from Disney World, so of course we are going to stay a few days extra to hit up the most magical place on earth!  Eli’s first trip was last summer, and it was the best.  So we are so excited to go again.

planningdisney

Planning for Disney World is a huge task.  Really fun, but huge.  RJ loves to plan it too, so we do it as a joint effort.  I’m not going to blog about the obvious stuff: hotel, purchasing park tickets, etc.  But a major part of the planning for Disney is the food!  We make all our reservations on the website, and it is super easy.  You just plug in the date, meal, how much you’re willing to spend, and it gives you all the available options.  Reservations can be made up to 180 days prior to your visit.  (This may be obvious, but it is best to figure out what days you will be in what park, and then base your dining reservations around that.)  And with little ones, character meals are important and fun.

When we went last summer, we had a character meal planned at Chef Mickey’s but ended up canceling it that day (and taking a hit for the reservation cancellation fee) because the timing with naps and dinner and early bedtimes for an 18-month-old, we decided that we would pay the $20 cancelation fee and spend more time in the park.  Plus, Eli had already met Mickey twice!

IMG_7988

Maybe one of the happiest moments of Elijah’s life.

This time we are planning our Character Meal as the very first Disney activity.  I decided on breakfast at Chef Mickey’s, a restaurant inside the Contemporary hotel, because Eli loves the characters who will be there: Mickey, Minnie, Pluto, Donald Duck, and Goofy.

This will only be our second character dining experience.  Our first was lunch at Cinderella’s Royal Table on our honeymoon.  I know that in the years to come we will be revisiting Cinderella’s Royal Table because I’m 99% sure that Emaline is going to love her some Disney Princesses.

151_504759312913_4153_n

RJ, with no facial hair, and Aurora at Cinderella’s Royal Table.

151_504759322893_8708_n

Belle, my favorite, and I, at Cinderella’s Royal Table on our honeymoon.

 

I was tempted to make lunch reservations at Hollywood & Vine, but since we will only have 3 days in the parks, we will save that one for another trip.  I know Elijah would love it there because it has some of the Disney Junior characters: Jake, Sofia, Handy Manny, and Doc McStuffins.

Character dining is pricier, but I think it is totally worth it.

Mickey-shaped food just tastes better.

Mickey-shaped food just tastes better.

 

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

One response to “Planning for Disney–6 months out.

  1. Pingback: Disney with an 18-month-old.

Leave a Reply

