Sick Babies, A Broken Keurig, and Mall Adventures.

First, check out the tummy on baby girl!  I can’t get enough of her tummy and chunky thighs.

IMG_1079

My babies are sick.  Well, Elijah is sick.  Emaline is just congested.  Everyone slept in “mama’s bed,” as Eli would say, because at 3:00 am he was up with a fever and super sad.  None of our usual tricks to get him back to sleep worked, so cuddles in bed were the answer.  And I definitely didn’t hate sleeping between my two babies.

Since it is such a beautiful day out I’m airing out the house in hopes to get all of the germs out and am praying for quick recoveries so we don’t miss anymore playdates or awesome spring days.

He is currently napping and looks adorable under his quilt with all of his “friends” (stuffed animals) surrounding him.   Maybe a long nap will make him feel well enough to play outside.

Sick babies plus an 8 week old who still nurses all the time mean this mama needs her morning coffee.  Unfortunately, my Keurig broke yesterday.  I tried all of the suggestions on the internet to clean it out/fix it and nothing worked.  So I am scouring the internet for the best price on a new one, since RJ agrees that my coffee is a necessity.  A definite necessity.

Getting out of the house with two little ones also requires coffee.  Trips to the mall has always been one of my go to outings with Elijah.  Now that we have Emaline it gets a little more complicated.  We made our first trip there without RJ and it was a success.  Elijah did way better than I expected.  He is used to running with Daddy while I push the stroller, and I thought for sure he would bolt on me.  But he stayed right in front or next to the stroller when he was sick of being in it.  It helped that I met a couple friends and their babes there, so they could keep an eye on him for me if needed.  I am now confident that I could take just the 3 of us.  Maybe I will attempt the grocery store now…probably not though.

This is how Emaline enjoyed her morning at the mall:

IMG_1058

Elijah tried to slide a dollar bill through the credit card machine and tried to put makeup on himself at Sephora.

IMG_1013

The Easter set up at Somerset was amazing.  We could have spent all afternoon there if Elijah didn’t need to go home for nap.

IMG_1017 IMG_1041 IMG_1047 IMG_1055

That last picture is Elijah counting the tulips, which are real.  He walked around them counting to 12 and then starting over again at 1.  If he was talking a little louder, I would have recorded it.

The evening before we went to Partridge so Elijah could play in the play area and I could do a return at The Gap.  Eli spent two minutes in the play area and was over it, since there were dozens of kids there.  Even though we were only there for a short period of time, he still got his treat.

IMG_1007 IMG_1011

 

Whenever I ask him to smile for a picture he gives me such a goofy smile.

Elijah has also discovered the thrill of escalators at the mall.  But he can only go on them if Daddy is with us, since I can’t bring my double stroller on an escalator and make sure a two year old doesn’t get hurt.

IMG_0692

I see many more trips to the mall in our near future.

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

Leave a Reply

