7 Things NOT To Do While Pregnant.

Image

Since I am more than halfway through my second pregnancy (26 weeks…woo hoo!); I have quite a few things I have learned, from experience of course, not to do while pregnant.  Here are a few of them:

1. Do not take a bath when you’re home alone.  Especially if you have a deep jacuzzi tub.  When I was VERY pregnant with Elijah, I decided that a nice, long bath would be awesome.  Well, the bath was nice.  But I couldn’t get out.  I was in the empty tub for probably 20 minutes before I was able to lift myself out.  I will not be repeating this mistake, it was not fun.

2. Do not watch every season of Grey’s Anatomy or Lost.  No matter how sick you are.  No matter how much you want to just lay on the couch and veg out for 10 hours of TV.  Do not do it.  Just watch romantic comedies or even CSI.  If you watch Grey’s or Lost, you will be an emotional wreck.  You will google the likelihood that your baby will be born with his heart outside his chest or 23 weeks premature.  You will have nightmares that The Others are coming to take your baby.  Or that they kidnap you and put you in a bunker to perform tests on your unborn child.  Trust me.

3. Do not go grocery shopping on an empty stomach.  Even though this applies to me when I am not with child, it is even worse when I am.  I have come home with 6 different kinds of chocolate and every snack food that looked even remotely appetizing, but no real source of nourishment for anyone.

Image

4. Do not google “flu shot while pregnant” after you have already received the flu shot.  Basically, google-ing medical issues is a bad idea all the time.

5. Do not tell your husband you are making a delicious dinner more than an hour before the dinner would be ready.  Since feeling like crap goes hand in hand with pregnancy for me, I make dinner about 50% of the time these days.  RJ often calls on his way home and asks if he needs to pick dinner up, because he knows better than to assume I have it prepared.  Even with the best intentions of making a healthy meal for my family, we have ended up with Mickey nuggets and apple sauce.  I feel that I am doing better this pregnancy with the dinner preparations (thank God for my crock pot), mostly because I don’t want Eli to have happy meals more than once a week.  I am fairly certain that I didn’t make dinner for about 10 months total, between being pregnant with Eli and having a tiny baby.  My husband, miraciously, still loves me though.

Image

6. Do not spend your sleepless nights looking at baby clothes online.  I may have spent my own clothing money one month on clothes for Eli and the new baby.  Do they need $34 tee shirts that are super hip?  Probably not.  Will you need a some new maternity leggings, especially if you don’t do your laundry?  Absolutely.  They will, undoubtedly, look freaking adorable in the new clothes.

7. Do not turn down offers of help.   I probably should’ve taken more people up on this the first time.  RJ was forced to do his first load of laundry when he ran out of clean clothes.  This time around I am taking everyone up on their offers.  I think in my first trimester, Eli was with other people 3 days a week so that I could sleep.  and puke without Elijah coming to examine the toilet bowl.  and to binge watch tv shows on my iPad in bed (see #2).  I am so lucky to have awesome family and friends who are happy to help.

Image

All photos in this post were taken by my talented-at-everything husband the week I had Elijah.  I am not this big…yet.

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

Leave a Reply

