elijah’s memorial weekend adventures.

We had a busy, but fun, Memorial Day weekend.

The monkey got to experience some new things (sand, jerky), and some things that seem new, now that he is so mobile (like the cottage).

 

Friday night Eli got to play on big inflatables at church…one of the perks of having a daddy who is a youth minister.

IMG_2371 IMG_7134

 

Saturday began with helping daddy dig a spot for the vegetable garden.  and eating dirt.

IMG_7156IMG_7162

And then Eli took daddy for a long walk up to 7-11 to get mama a slurpee.

IMG_2377

 

Saturday evening we had a bbq with my family, and Elijah enjoyed showing off and eating noni’s yummy lasagna.  On Sunday we had a bbq with good friends.  Then Monday we went up to the cottage.

Elijah has been to the cottage before, but last summer he would just play on a blanket or fall asleep on the boat.  This year is  a whole new world for the monkey.

We began a new “tradition” (as rj likes to refer to it) of stopping at the Almont Smokehouse on the way to the cottage.  Eli tasted his first venison and loved it.  I think the sausage was nice for him to chew since he has 4 (!!!) molars coming in back there…

IMG_2386IMG_7173

 

The monkey was a little unsure of the water at first.  I don’t blame him, it was real cold.  But he stuck his toes in and eventually just sat right down on the edge, clothes and all.

IMG_7178IMG_7181

He was a little afraid of the boat ride, but grandpa let him drive, so he was happy for a little.

IMG_2393

Elijah was all about the sand.  Mama was not a fan of how much sand Elijah tried to eat.  I was hoping he would try it and decide that it wasn’t so appetizing after all, but no, he thought it was a funny game.

Burying and looking for his feet was exciting.

IMG_7188IMG_7185

 

Eating is the highlight of any day for this kid.  Here Elijah demonstrates how many cheetos he can fit in his mouth at once.  Good job monkey, good job.

IMG_7183

So much fun packed into one weekend.  We love summer already.

 

 

About jessgrune

I'm Jessica. I am a wife and a mama. My husband, Rj, is a youth pastor who just began seminary this fall. Our baby boy, Elijah, is almost two and he is the coolest thing I have ever made. In February we will be adding a baby girl monkey to our family. I love doing crafts, shopping for good deals, vacations in Disney World, naps, and playing with my monkey. I have more fun picking out clothes for Eli than I should admit. I wish I spent more time reading good books. And I really miss sleeping for more than 4 hours at a time, but I am told this will happen again...one day.

Leave a Reply

